Skip Navigation
2nd and 3rd grades

In Form 2, the two-year integral curriculum uses a theme for the year to tie together a series of units that are approximately six weeks in length. These units allow for rich discussions and experiences that ensure that history, science, math, the arts, communication, and religion all inform the student’s exploration of the topic.

In alternating years Form Two follows the themes of “The American Adventure” and “The Heroic Quest.”
Year One — The American Adventure: A Pioneering Spirit

This year is composed of the following units:
 •  The First Americans: Living with the Land
 •  The Early English Settlers: Surviving in a New World
 •  The Thirteen Colonies: Building a New Life
 •  The New Nation: Establishing our Identity
 •  The Push West: Seeking Adventure
 •  The Final Frontiers: Exploring the Unknown

Year Two — The Heroic Quest

This year is composed of the following units:
 •  The Hero's Quest: A Life of Virtue
 •  The Quest for Valor: Military Heroes
 •  The Quest for Reverence: Heroes Seeking Truth
 •  The Quest for Perseverance: Heroes Against All Odds
 •  The Quest for Beauty: Creative Heroes
 •  The Quest for Confidence: I Can Be a Hero!

Click here for examples of the literature woven into various Form Two units each year!

Take a tour of Lorien wood!

The Developing Readers Book List

Children at this stage of development (7-9 years old) are making the beautiful transition from learning to read to reading to learn.

Here at Lorien Wood, we seek to be a community of lifelong learners and readers in response to God’s call to love Him with all our mind (Mark 12:30). We value rich and meaningful texts which have stood the test of time and help to develop students’ character as well as deepen their knowledge.

These books are an excellent starting point for second and third graders to engage their God-given curiosities, as well as their love for adventure! It is our hope that cultivating a lifelong love of reading will further help children at this age to explore God’s world and discover their unique place in it!  


Get the Developing Readers Book List (7-9 yr olds)